Skip to content

Last Sunday at Garvey’s

December 12, 2010

Anybody who knows anything about my semester abroad knows that I spent nearly every Sunday at a little pub in Eyre Square called Garvey’s Inn. Garvey’s is owned by this really awesome guy named Terry, who I boldly told during week one of the football season: “I will be here every Sunday, occasionally on Monday nights, and you will get to know me very well.” I think that I have held true on that promise.

Since that day, I have been referred to by Terry, Robbie, and Mike–the three bartenders who work on Sundays and Monday nights–as the “Queen of Garvey’s” or the “bar favorite”. They each know me by name, have a Smithwicks pouring for me as I walk in the door, and of course know that I am the most avid of Jets fans. Because of the five hour time difference, football games don’t air here until 6:00 PM and 9:15 PM, and the Sunday and Monday night games don’t even kick off until 1:30 AM. This, of course, has never stopped my favorite bartenders in Galway from allowing me to remain in the bar straight through until 5:30 AM on five different occasions, while the Jets have played in night games. Needless to say, on many of those nights I have been the only soldier left standing and I have gotten to know these three wonderful men very well.

Terry used to live in New York and was a New York Jets season ticket holder for eleven years, so we hit it off right off the bat when I walked in sporting my jersey on the first day of the season. He always has the NFL games on the TVs when I walk in, regardless of the other European sports that are conflicting with them. There is also the NFL Sunday Special, which consists of wings, pizza, and a beer for €15. The beer is supposed to be a Miller (psh, American beers), but being the bar favorite and all, Terry lets me bend the rules and order a Smithwicks. He even serves it to me in a stein mug, because its slightly bigger than the Smithwicks pint glass, as can be seen in the picture posted below, and the Queen deserves every drop of beer she can get!

Fortunately Terry travels to New York semi-frequently, and is planning on making a trip over some time between the SuperBowl and St. Patrick’s day this year. He plans to meet up with me and my parents, who he was able to meet during their visit, for some drinks in New York City. I really do hope that he comes.

I can easily say that Garvey’s will be one of the things that I miss the most about Galway. I have spent so much time in that pub and I consider Terry, Robbie, and Mike to be my Irish family. They have been one of the strongest and most consistent aspects of this experience.

It’s so mind-blowing to think that at this time next week I will have landed in JFK and will be watching the Jets game on my own couch, in my own house. It will be so weird not to be able to watch the games with the people that I have grown so accustomed to seeing on a weekly basis. I can pretty solidly assert that Garvey’s will be one of the last places I stop at in Galway before I leave and will most definitely be the first place that I stop when I return again in the future.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 13, 2010 1:06 am

    loved this post. so sweet!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

